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July 11, 2018 
 
 
Hon. Ronald B. Robie 
Associate Justice of the Court of Appeal 
Third Appellate District 
914 Capitol Mall, 4th Floor 
Sacramento, CA  95814 
  
Dear Hon. Robie: 
 
I am currently the Interim Chief Trial Counsel of the State Bar of California.  The mission of 
the State Bar of California is to protect the public through its primary functions of licensing, 
regulating and disciplining attorneys, advancing the ethical and competent practice of law, and 
supporting greater access to, and inclusion in, the legal system. The primary responsibility of 
my office is the investigation and prosecution of disciplinary complaints against licensees of 
the State Bar of California.   
 
I am aware that every year my office has sent a letter to judicial officers throughout the state 
requesting judicial officers to report specific instances of attorney misconduct to our office. I 
understand that, at times, some judicial officers have been frustrated because the State Bar has 
not informed judicial officers what, if any, discipline results from their report to the State 
Bar.  The frustration with the lack of regular communication has led to skepticism about the 
effectiveness of the attorney discipline system. 
 
I want to assure you that we recognize the crucial role that judicial officers play in the attorney 
discipline system.  In order to address potential shortcomings in our communications, we have 
made some internal modifications in how we identify and process reports from judicial 
officers.  Among the changes is to the form that is available for your use when making a report to 
the State Bar.  We have clarified in the form that the judicial officer submitting the form, will be 
identified as the complainant and apprised of the status.  However, if at any time after submitting 
the form the judicial officer notifies us that he/she prefers not to receive further information 
about the status of the complaint,  we will act accordingly.  Otherwise, the judicial officer should 
expect to receive status updates as the complaint progresses.     
 
As you know, courts are required to notify the State Bar of many types of attorney 
misconduct.  These Reportable Actions include the following:  
 

https://na01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.calbar.ca.gov&data=01%7C01%7Cron.robie%40jud.ca.gov%7C47f8f13934ec4b3260af08d5e761a2ad%7C10cfa08a5b174e8fa245139062e839dc%7C1&sdata=%2B94RQJvOkGGeKt%2Fq%2FVvtMyfNJ5v4VZaxnhaDLXQQ1Sg%3D&reserved=0


• A final order of contempt imposed against an attorney that may involve grounds 
warranting discipline.  The court entering the final order must transmit to the State Bar 
a copy of the relevant minutes, the final order and the reporter’s transcript, if one 
exists.  (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6086.7, subd. (a)(1).) 

 
• A modification or reversal of a judgment based in whole or in part on the misconduct, 

incompetent representation or willful misrepresentation of an attorney.  (Bus. & Prof. 
Code § 6086.7, subd. (a)(2).) 

 
• The imposition of judicial sanctions against an attorney, except for sanctions for failure 

to make discovery or monetary sanctions of less than $1,000.  (Bus. & Prof. Code § 
6086.7, subd. (a)(3).) 

 
• A judgment against an attorney in any civil action for fraud, misrepresentation, breach 

of fiduciary duty, or gross negligence committed in a professional capacity.  Written 
notice of the judgment must be provided to the State Bar within 20 days of the 
judgment.  (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6086.8, subd. (a).) 

 
• The imposition of a civil penalty upon an attorney pursuant to section 8620 of the 

Family Code regarding adoption of children with Indian tribal affiliations.  (Bus. & 
Prof. Code  § 6086.7, subd. (a)(4).) 

 
• The finding of bad faith by a prosecuting attorney in withholding exculpatory 

evidence.  (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6086.7, subd. (a)(5).) 
 

• The conviction of an attorney of any crime.  The clerk of the court in which the attorney 
was convicted is required to transmit a certified copy of the record of conviction to the 
State Bar within 48 hours after the conviction.1 (Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6101, subd. (c).) 

 
• The finding of violation by a lawyer selling financial services to a client who is an elder 

or dependent adult without required disclosure of the lawyer’s commission (Bus. & 
Prof. Code § 6175.6.) 

 
The conduct of attorneys in the courtroom and in the course of litigation often gives rise to 
disciplinary complaints that judicial officers are not required to report.2  As a result, the 
effectiveness of the attorney discipline system requires a close working relationship between all 
California judicial officers and the State Bar.  Often judicial officer reports of attorney 
misconduct involve the willful violation of court orders (Bus. & Prof. Code, § 6103) or 
improper public comments by counsel regarding pending court proceedings (rule 5-120, Rules 
of Professional Conduct).  
 
In addition, consistent with the 2007 Report and Recommendation of the California 
Commission on the Fair Administration of Justice concerning the professional responsibility and 
accountability of prosecutors and defense lawyers, you may also report any egregious conduct 
of prosecutors and defense counsel, including: (1) willful misrepresentation of law or fact to a 
court; (2) appearing in a judicial proceeding while intoxicated; (3) engaging in willful unlawful 



discrimination in a judicial proceeding; (4) willfully and in bad faith withholding or suppressing 
exculpatory evidence (including impeachment evidence) which he or she is constitutionally 
obligated to disclose; (5) willful presentation of perjured testimony; (6) willful and unlawful 
disclosure of victim or witness information; and (7) failure to properly identify oneself in 
interviewing victims or witnesses. 
 
Your help in directing the clerks of your court to provide the above-referenced information to 
the State Bar on a timely basis would be of great assistance so that the State Bar can fulfill its 
duty to investigate these matters and determine the appropriateness of initiating disciplinary 
action against the attorney.  (Bus. & Prof. Code § 6086.7, subd. (c).)   
 
When reporting attorney misconduct, whether or not the report is required by statute, you or your 
agent may use the Discipline Referral Form designed for use by judicial officers. A copy of that 
form is attached for your convenience.  To use that form, simply click the link in this letter, fill 
the form out online, print the form, sign it, and mail the form to:   

 
Office of the Chief Trial Counsel – Intake Unit The 
State Bar of California 
845 S. Figueroa Street 
Los Angeles, California 90017-2515 

 
Additionally, you can also make a report or discuss an attorney performance problem, by 
contacting Mr. John Kelley, Assistant Chief Trial Counsel of our Intake Unit.  Mr. Kelley’s 
telephone number is (213) 765-1237.   
 
One caveat about the timing of State Bar investigations, however: we are highly sensitive to the 
prejudicial effect that a State Bar investigation may have on a pending trial or proceeding. 
Therefore, while we encourage you to report attorney misconduct at any time and we are always 
willing to speak with you about attorney misconduct in pending proceedings, in most cases, the 
court is in the best position to deal with conduct as it occurs, and the State Bar will generally 
only pursue an investigation once the trial or proceeding has been concluded.   
 
In addition to our role in the attorney discipline system, my office has statutory authority to 
investigate the unauthorized practice of law by both non-attorneys and by disbarred, resigned, 
and suspended attorneys.  In appropriate cases, my office can also petition the superior courts to 
assume jurisdiction over the illegal practices of such non-attorneys or former or suspended 
attorneys.  You can find detailed information about an attorney’s current license status and his 
or her current eligibility to practice law from the Look Up a Lawyer feature on the State Bar 
of California’s website at www.calbar.ca.gov.   
 
I would also like to call your attention to the Lawyer Assistance Program (“LAP”).  The LAP is 
available to provide confidential and comprehensive assistance to California attorneys with 
substance abuse and/or mental health issues.  Participation in the LAP is voluntary and may, in 
appropriate cases, either be in lieu of discipline or as an adjunct to discipline through the State 
Bar’s Alternative Discipline Program.  It is LAP’s goal to provide assistance to these attorneys 
before their conduct results in a disciplinary complaint, investigation, or proceeding.  The LAP 
can be reached at (877) LAP-4-HELP [527-4435] and is available to provide assistance to you 
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in dealing with an attorney.  Alternatively, the LAP can make direct contact with the attorney at 
your request.  All LAP activities are conducted confidentially. 
 
I would like to do what I can to ensure an ongoing dialogue with you regarding the 
regulation of attorney conduct and to encourage judicial officers to report attorney misconduct 
even when such a report is not required by statute.  If you have any questions, concerns, need 
additional information, or have any suggestions as to how we can more effectively collaborate to 
improve the attorney discipline system, please do not hesitate to contact me.  My direct 
telephone number is (213) 765-1066. 
 

Respectfully, 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Melanie J. Lawrence 
Interim Chief Trial Counsel 

 
MJL/srcp 
 
===================== 
1 According to the statute, a “plea or verdict of guilty, an acceptance of a nolo contendere plea, or a conviction 
after a plea of nolo contendere is deemed to be a conviction within the meaning of those Sections.”  (Bus. & 
Prof. Code, § 6101, subd. (e).)  An attorney who has been convicted of a felony or a crime that involves, or 
probably involves, moral turpitude is placed on interim suspension from the practice of law pending the finality 
of his or her conviction and until the final disposition of any disciplinary proceeding arising out of the 
conviction.  (Bus. & Prof. Code, §§ 6101 subd. (d) and 6102.) 
 
2 Judicial Canon 3(D)(2). 
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